New Jersey has passed a law that allows parents to give medical marijuana to sick or disabled children at school, the first law of its kind to be passed in the U.S. The change was inspired by 16-year-old Genny Barbour, who was diagnosed with severe autism and epilepsy. Her doctor recommended she take 4 doses of medical marijuana daily, but the school would not allow Genny’s parents to administer a lunchtime dose for fear that it would be breaking the law. The story was featured on many public news outlets, including a daytime segment on ABC’s The View.
In response to Genny’s story and similar scenarios across the state, Governor Chris Christie signed into law Assembly Bill 4587, requiring school boards to allow parents, guardians, and caregivers to administer edible cannabis on school property or a school bus. To qualify, the child must be both (a) diagnosed with a developmental disability and (b) registered with the state medical marijuana program. The legislation passed by an overwhelming majority in both houses of the state legislature in June 2015 and Gov. Chris Christie signed it into law in early November 2015.
Although New Jersey law has become more tolerant of medical marijuana, possession of marijuana is still a federal crime and the consequences are severe even for a first offense. You could face up to 18 months in prison, a fine ranging from $500 to $15,000, and loss of your driver’s license.
If you or a loved one was charged with drug possession in New Jersey, contact Adam H. Rosenblum of the Rosenblum Law Firm today by calling 888-979-7551. He will defend your constitutional rights, fight to keep you out of jail, and do what he can to have your possession charges dismissed.