Most drivers purchase auto insurance not only as a way to protect their property against an accident, but because it is a law in most states for drivers to have it. Even so, not all motorists have auto insurance policy coverage. If you have been hit by another driver who did not have insurance or if you have been in a hit and run accident, uninsured motorist coverage will help you.
A recent study by the non-profit group Insurance Research Council found that one in six drivers this year will be driving without auto insurance in the United States. And while the council states that New York has a relatively low percentage of uninsured drivers at 5 percent, one will never know when and where an uninsured driver will be on the road.
New York State Insurance Department requires all motorists to have a minimum of $25,000 in liability insurance for bodily injury to one person, $50,000 for bodily injury or death, and $10,000 in property damage. Some motorists play it safe on the road by purchasing higher amounts of liability. Drivers also must have $50,000 in mandatory “no-fault” coverage.
The insurance policy must also be issued from a company in New York State. All insurance policies from a company that is out of state are not acceptable. The name on the policy must also be in the name of the person the car is registered under. The insurance company you select will have to send a notice to the Department of Motor Vehicles within 45 days to let them know that you have insurance. You should also receive an insurance card that you should keep in your car in case a law enforcement officer needs to see it.
If you have uninsured motorist coverage on your auto insurance policy and have recently been involved in an accident, you may want to speak with an attorney before you file a claim. This will prove invaluable if you have to prove that the accident was the other driver’s fault.